Month: May 2010

  • Day 2

    So day 2 of the challenge (which I’m definitely not going to get done in 30 days) is Favorite Movie.

    Another difficult one. I have soooo many favorite movies. Favorite family movies (Sahara, The Three Musketeers, Knight’s Tale, Count of Monte Cristo), favorite series movies (Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Chronicles of Narnia), favorite romance (While You Were Sleeping, A Walk to Remember), comedy (Wild Hogs, Man of the House, Legally Blonde), action (Transformers, Indian Jones, Speed, Independence day). The list can continue: favorite inspirational (The Blind Side, Rudy, Fireproof), animated, classic, musical not to mention 80s teen movies,  oh my goodness, the list is endless!

    So then I have a dilemna. One that actually took me to my dvd collection to check and see what movie is it that draws back again and again. What movie never gets old? I admit that I never really came to a conclusive answer. Movie titles swirled around my head like mini tornadoes.  I went back to my childhood to see if I could come up with an answer, and found several movies that I loved then and I still love now. That in mind, I chose.

    OK as cheesy as this may sound:

    My Fair Lady wins favorite movie.

    my_fair_lady

    Audrey Hepburn is amazing in this (as she is in all her movies). I love the music, the elaborate scenes, the dialogue – the only thing I don’t love is the time – 3 hours is too much I think. If you need an intermission, the movie is too long. However, there is nothing that I would be willing to cut from the movie either, so there you go.

    There are still many more I would like to put at this top spot – it’s so hard to pick just one! So even though I did eventually choose one, I am not fully committed to it being “my favorite movie”, but I guess it will do for now!

    Question of the Day:

    Do you have just one “favorite” movie? or are you like me and have multiple favorites to choose from??

     

     

  • Talentless talent show?

    Tonight was the school art and talent show. As a mom of older students, I forgot how bad these things can be. The acts were all cute, and there is definitely some “future” potential – but man, that was stressful just watching!!

    One student plays the sax – he’s pretty darn good for a 4th grader. Especially considering that he got hit in the right index finger with a fast pitch ball at the batting cages last night and his finger was black and swollen about 1/2 again it’s normal size. A couple pretty good singers (more bad than good unfortunately) a dance act, piano, harp, drama, you name it we had. OK, so we didn’t have jugglers, balloon animal makers, fire dancers, or bull fighters, but we had just about everything else! We did have Beach Boys. Our janitor, morning care provider (a former graduate and grandfather of a 3rd grader), PE teacher and principal did a version of Be True to Your School.

    Dress rehearsal was also today – the entire school was there for that. Needless to say, it was very long. Then I hung out until the evening performance (I was one of the teachers helping out with the show).

    My fun meter is definitely pegged.

    Woo. Hoo.

    Sunday is Run for the Zoo, although Ducky, Coralora and I are just going to walk, Hubby is going to run. That should be fun, I’m looking forward to that. Hubby and I have been hitting the gym and it feels good.

    OK I saw this on endlesssummer‘s site and it looked really fun to. I doubt I can do it 30 days, but I’ll give it a shot. Here’s day 1: Your Favorite Song

    OK – this one is one of those ummmmm… sure questions. I love music. I listen to it constantly. I have favorite songs from the past, from recent, new favorite and all time favorite songs. In other words, it’s just not that simple. I decided to go with my latest favorite song. I’ve been listening to a lot of Christian Alternative lately, it’s definitely my new favorite genre. At any rate, my favorite song right now is… (drum roll please…. )

    Lead Me by Sanctus Real

    I absolutely love this song and two days in a row it has brought me to tears. Music talks to me – it always has. These days I spend a lot of time praying for my children, my family, my hubby, and the strength to help them in any way I can. The strength and grace to lead them. The faith to help guide them. The love and patience to accept them

    Right now this song is totally where I am at.

    Here are the lyrics:

    Sanctus Real – “Lead Me”

    I look around and see my wonderful life
    Almost perfect from the outside
    In picture frames I see my beautiful wife
    Always smiling
    But on the inside, I can hear her saying…

    “Lead me with strong hands
    Stand up when I can’t
    Don’t leave me hungry for love
    Chasing dreams, what about us?

    Show me you’re willing to fight
    That I’m still the love of your life
    I know we call this our home
    But I still feel alone”

    I see their faces, look in their innocent eyes
    They’re just children from the outside
    I’m working hard, I tell myself they’ll be fine
    They’re in independent
    But on the inside, I can hear them saying…

    “Lead me with strong hands
    Stand up when I can’t
    Don’t leave me hungry for love
    Chasing dreams, but what about us?

    Show me you’re willing to fight
    That I’m still the love of your life
    I know we call this our home
    But I still feel alone”

    So Father, give me the strength
    To be everything I’m called to be
    Oh, Father, show me the way
    To lead them
    Won’t You lead me?

    To lead them with strong hands
    To stand up when they can’t
    Don’t want to leave them hungry for love,
    Chasing things that I could give up

    I’ll show them I’m willing to fight
    And give them the best of my life
    So we can call this our home
    Lead me, ’cause I can’t do this alone

    Father, lead me, ’cause I can’t do this alone

    Question of the Day:

    What speaks to you? (besides the voices – they’re not real you know).