Month: April 2010

  • Mission to Mars

    Yesterday I received my feedback on my classroom observation. It was good. My principal was very complimentary. I just have to say I love my job. Despite the 5th grade hormones that are kicking in, the Spring fever, and the fact that we have so much to do and so little time to do it in, I still LOVE my job. I love my school. I love teaching 5th grade. I can’t wait until next year. I am already planning for next year – I am definitely looking forward to summer, don’t get me wrong, but I am already ready to get started for next year. I keep thinking about what I can do better, how I can do this, that, arrange this etc, etc.

    That is especially true regarding Mission to Mars. This is a field trip but it’s a lot more than that. It’s several months of planning and working. Students plan lunches based on weight and limited packaging, they learn Mars facts and use them to plan a life support model. They work with other groups to plot locations for colonies on Mars, write sagas, design mission patches, and cut pieces of plastic to construct a habitat. Then on the actual field trip day, they meet their other teams, construct their habitat, each lunch, give a technical briefing on their life support models, weigh their lunches and their waste, and perform their sagas. The culminating activity is to link all the habitats together and then students can travel throughout the colony.

    It really sounds cool! Next Friday is the actual field trip. I plan on taking lots of pictures, so I will gladly share them when I get back! If you are interested you can check it out here: AFRL Mission to Mars.

    The thing about it… it’s making a mess of my room! I don’t mind a mess now and then. One that’s temporary and relatively controlled. This ongoing mess… not so much. I’m too CDO for that (that’s OCD in alphabetical order). It’s OK, only one more  week and then it’s over. I keep telling myself that.

    I am ready for next year. I am excited about it. I understand, this year isn’t finished, but I am already planning for next year. What I can do better, what I can incorporate, how I can change this, fix that and rearrange this. Don’t get me wrong…I’m excited about summer. I’m definitely ready for. But I’m also excited about the next school year.

    Did I mention that I love my job? That I love teaching? That I love my school?

    I do.

    Question of the Day:

    What do you love?

    P.S. – I also LOVE my new laptop. Thank you HUBBY! Muawh I LOVE YOU TOO!

     

  • Observation day – fun.

    So today was observation day by the principal. Last observation went well. This one was boring as heck. The lesson was boring – World history and about the Articles of Confederation. Not a lot to do there. The lesson on Thursday will be infinitely more interesting, there is an actual interactive activity for the students to participate in. Much more interesting than the cut and dried – read discuss lesson that we did to day.

    C’est la vie eh?

    We’ll see what he thinks tomorrow.

    Did I mention that I love my job? But that I hate 5th graders in the spring?

    Hmmm… maybe I did.

    So what’s new huh?  So much coming up! May is a big month. We have a big field trip – Mission to Mars. We have the talent show coming up. We have Rite of Passage and a dozen other things. No to mention finals, report cards and all the end of year stuff I have to do to close out a school year.

    The funny thing is I am ready to get started planning next year. I’m already getting  excited about it! Strange huh? Although my summer is already shaping up to be extremely busy. Lots of house projects, planning and visits. I forgot – a vaca to Disney World – That I’m totally stoked about!!

    OK – so I’m off to visit. Have a great night everyone.

    Question of the day:

    What are you excited about?

     

  • Rough Day

    Tough day at school. My kids are great, but they are 5th graders. They are in a difficult time and about to enter an even more trying time? Who doesn’t remember middle school? And not fondly?

    I defiantly fall in that category.

    At any rate, tough times. They are bickering, getting in cliques, and discovering the opposite sex. Most of these kids have been in the same class together for the last 3-5 years, so it’s a small community. One of the new additions is stirring up a lot and bringing a lot of animosity and contention into the classroom. Sadly a lot of it is directed to the one student probably the least able to handle it — although he doesn’t have a diagnosis I would bet he has something going on – unfortunately mom doesn’t want him tested. He reminds me of a gentle giant. Social skills are not his strength. He really doesn’t deserve the crap he’s getting, and sadly, it’s only going to get worse as he gets older.

    It makes me so sad.

    There is so much going on in the class right now. Spring fever. Field trips. Our Mission to Mars is coming up. They are about to move to Mid-School. It’s just a lot gong on. I’m wishing that I could do something to foster a feeling of caring and community.

    I’m thinking about it but drawing a blank.

    The new house is fantastic. I Love it! Every day. It’s so nice having your own place. Not just your own “place” – but your “OWN” place. I love it. Did I say that already? — Long rough day. Did I say that already too?

    Sigh.

    Aright, I have to go. I’m still trying to unwind.

    Wish me luck.